What is Nakshatra Gandanta?

picture of star

What is Nakshatra Gandanta? Image Courtesy – http://wonderfulengineering.com.

The origin of the ‘Nakshatra’ based prediction is traced back to the Vedanta Period and is called in ‘Vedanta Jyotisha’, ‘Nakshatra’ is a Sanskrit word; meaning of which as per one school of thought is ‘Naksha’ means to ‘approach’, ‘TRA’ means to Guard. In other words, ‘Nakshatra’ literally means which does not decay. Thus in a nutshell, each ‘Nakshatra’ is the abode of or ‘house’ of 28 Gods delegated with duties of guarding and guiding the cosmic and solar evolution.

Zodiac consists of 360 degree of which for the sake of facility is further divided into 12 houses of 30 degrees each. It is again divided into 27 divisions of 13°20‘ each called ‘NAKSHATRAS’ on ‘STAR’ or ‘LUNAR MANSION’ or ‘ASTERISMS’ or ‘SIEU’, Nakshatra starting from ‘Ashwini’ is the head of a particular group of star.

Traditional Astrology describes that. There are 27 segment of equal strength, which lies among the twelve basic signs/rashis. Each nakshatra has 4 charans, that way 27 X 4 = 108 charans, in total. If we divide its 12 Rashis (108/12) = 9 charans in each rashi.

The term ‘Gandanta’ refers to a joining of the end and these joining of certain nakshatra like Revati & Ashwini; (27 & 1) = Ashlesha & Magha (9 & 10) and Jyestha & Moola is (18 & 19) referred to as ‘Nakshtra Gandanta Dosha’.

16°40‘ – 30°00‘ (cancer)

16°40‘ – 30°00‘ (scorpio)

16°40‘ – 30°00‘ (pieces)

In case of 9, 18, 27 the last two ghatis are considered for this dosha, while in the case of Magha, Moola & Ashwini it is the first two ghatis, which is considered inauspicious. 1 ghati = 24 min. Gandanta span is approximately 96 minutes.

Rashi involved – 4th, 8th, 12th of Zodiac Cycle [In broader dimentions, 4th house – materialistic happiness, 8th – cause of death, 12th – Mokshalabh]

Read: The Astral Science is derived from the Vedas – it is not a gift of foreigners


Mercury (9, 18, 27) – Intellect

Ketu (1, 10, 19) – Moksha

In the native is bron in these combinations a ‘Shantipujan’ or remedial worship is required to be performed called Nakshatra shanti /Mool shanti. Even in the determination of ‘muhurta’ these ‘gandanta sandhis’ are avoided.
Supportive Classical text says,


Narad Samhita – Chapter 29, Verse 41.

Meaning – In judgment of ‘Nakshatra’ these three ‘Gandanta’ has significant implications in birth, death, marriage & construction.


Prof. Dr. Koosal Sen

About Prof. Dr. Koosal Sen

Prof.Dr. Koosal Sen, Ph.D in Applied Numerology from Bhartiya Vaidic Jyotish Sansthanam (Indian Institute Of Vedic Astrology), Varanasi; Ex Vice-principal - Indian College of Astrology & Astronomy. He has established himself to a new standard for quality & depth of numeric analysis. He has developed unique personalised status in the field of Vedic Astrology & Applied Vaastushastra. Currently he stays both in Kolkata & Guwahati where from he use to write articles, offer lectures and do personal consultation with clients. Prof. Dr. Koosal Sen is also Working Member of All India Council of Astrologers, Bhartiya Vaidic Jyotish Sansthanam, Varanasi.

View all posts by Prof. Dr. Koosal Sen →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *